Don’t hate me because my kids sleep late

It’s almost 10 a.m., and both my kids are still sleeping. Now don’t go getting your panties all in a bunch yet. This is not normal. Kaiden and Kaya are usually both awake by 8 a.m., although on occasion I do have to wake Kaiden up on school days. But last night was a rough one for both of them, although good fodder for my blog.

It was raining pretty hard – a pretty rare occurrence in Tahoe – so I think that woke them up. Around 12:30 a.m. I heard Kaiden making a comotion in the hallway. I came out of my room and there he was, crawling up the stairs, moaning like he was in pain and just generally freaking out – which I knew he meant he had to go to the bathroom. Why he didn’t use the bathroom next to his room and instead chose to walk upstairs to the kitchen is beyond me. Once he made it to the toilet and was in the process of relieving himself, he kept saying in a panicked tone, “I’m going to crash! I’m going to crash!” I don’t know if he meant he didn’t think he would be able to keep his aim, or if he was still absorbed in some dream. The minute I walked out of his sight, though, he sprayed the kitty litter box. I guess that was a crash and burn.

About an hour later, I heard someone banging around upstairs again. I ran to the playroom and there was Kaiden, in the pitch dark, frantically climbing on top of the table the kids use for their art projects. It took me a moment to grasp what I was seeing. And then I realized what he was doing. He was so disoriented that he thought he was climbing up the stairs. I had to fight back laughter. The next morning, he didn’t remember either episode.

Then around 2:30 a.m., Kaya woke up. She couldn’t find the stuffed animals she likes to sleep with. I found them for her and went back to bed. When I heard her crying again about a half hour later, I decided it was finally Siig’s turn. I swear, that man can sleep through anything. The price I pay for being a light sleeper…

2 thoughts on “Don’t hate me because my kids sleep late

    • Actually, I had you in mind when I wrote that title! If it makes you feel any better, the next morning Kaya woke up at 5:45 am, but I sat her in front of the TV and I went back to bed for 2 hours. Are your kids sleeping any better????

Leave a Reply

