Word of the Day

Pip: The small seed of a fruit, as that of an apple or orange.

I learned this word from, of all places, my daughter’s latest library book – “The Apple-Pip Princess.” And I had absolutely no idea what it meant when I first saw it. A variation of Pippy Long-Stocking, pip-squeak, pimple? Using my amazing powers of deduction, by page seven I had figured out that the word basically means ‘seed.’ Why on earth the author couldn’t use that more common word than vocabulary a grown up isn’t even familiar with doesn’t make sense to me. It is a children’s book, after all. I know, I know – ‘Apple-Pip Princess’ sounds a lot better than ‘Apple-Seed Princess.’ But should Johnny Appleseed have been called Johnny Applepip? I think not. That makes him sound like an effeminate pioneer.

johnny_appleseed_1972_post_card

Leave a Reply

