Thunder + Lightening = No Sleep

lighteningThis was my night last night:

9:50 p.m.: Everyone asleep. I should go to sleep too. Let me just glance at my blog really quick…….

10:30 p.m.: Finish writing blog post, couldn’t resist. Tell myself to hurry up and go to bed. Siig has 5 a.m. wake-up call.

11:00 p.m.: Finally in bed. Good girl. Go to sleep. You have six hours until Siig’s alarm goes off.

11:30 p.m.: Sound asleep. But wait – just heard the heater go on. We don’t need that on in June. Get out of bed and go upstairs and turn the heat down. Five and a half hours left.

2:30 a.m.: Boom! Crash! Flash! Holy cow! I wake up. It’s hailing and thundering so loud. I am actually a little freaked out. We rarely get thunderstorms in Tahoe. Crap. Two and a half hours until the alarm.

2:40 a.m.: Ouch, my neck! Just can’t get comfortable on this pillow. I need a massage.

2:45 a.m.: Back to sleep for a moment, and then the bright flash of lightening wakes me up again, like someone’s shining a searchlight  in my room. I know the kids are going to wake up any minute scared. I lay anxiously in bed waiting for a “Mommy!” It doesn’t come.

3:00 a.m.: I’m listening really hard for Kaiden or Kaya. Nothing. The thunder builds – Clap!

3:15 a.m.: Asleep. Then “Daddddddy!” A-ha! I knew it. I lie there. Nothing more. Kaya is back asleep. But not me. I open the drawer of my nightstand and pull out my eye mask I got from an airlines once. Maybe this will block the lightening flashes. Less than two hours to the alarm and sunrise.

3:20 a.m.: How is it that Siig can go back to sleep so fast? I swear, a bear could jump on him and he would be snoring in minutes. Not fair.

3:25: a.m.: Uh-oh! Did Kaiden leave his shoes outside by the trampoline? There’s no way in hell I’m going to look right now. Whatever. He doesn’t really need shoes for school tomorrow anyways.

3:30 a.m.: Should I take an Ambien? What if the kids wake up and I have to comfort them all drugged up? But I don’t want to lay here until morning either. Major internal debate ensues. Dam it, my neck hurts.

3:45 a.m: Fuck it. Sleep trumps all. I”m taking a quarter of one.

4:30 a.m. Still awake. Dam it. I’ll take an additional sliver. Nobody wants a grumpy, tired Mommy, least of all me.

5 a.m.: Vaguely aware of Siig getting up. Place pillow over my head to block the sun. When are those shades coming? Not soon enough.

7:50 a.m.: “Mooommmmmmmmmmy!” Should I ignore her? Maybe she’ll play in her room. I just need a half an hour more. I close my eyes again.

8:00 a.m.: “MOOOOOOOMMMMMIIIEEEEE!” All right, gosh darn it. You win. I’m coming. I get out of bed. I think I feel rested, not too groggy.

Final verdict: a successful night of sleep.

clock

3 thoughts on “Thunder + Lightening = No Sleep

  1. The growling bear outside my window wondering down the street in the thunder storm didn’t help me last night either. Gav is in Nicaragua, so I have Vinnie and my dogs who all decided they needed to let the bear know it was not ok to growl at the lightening… I’m with you on the no sleep, but I’m at work and drinking a Tahoe House Latte (what I like to call “crack”, hoping to make it through the day. Hope yours is productive… I’ve already had to tell a contractor I screwed up the elevations and we need to change them (hope I’m right….).
    Love the writing… Bree

  2. Thanks for the faithful reading! Hope to develop a fan club.
    Have a great time in Nicaragua if I don’t see you first.
    – melissa

  3. That was a crazy night! Our house shook and I actually crawled into bed with Cooper that night. I just figured I would save myself the hassle of doing it later on in the evening. He never woke up.

Leave a Reply

