Help Me to Forget

candlesSo there is a very, very, VERY, important day coming up. June 23rd. It’s mucho importante for two reasons.

For one, it’s my birthday. I mean, in my opinion it should be a national holiday. I know what you’re asking – “It’s not already?” Yes, sad but true, not everyone is aware of the glorious day I came into the world – yet. So what if my mom, for the first time EVER, forgot my birthday last year. It’s not like she was there that day!  She also forgot my anniversary last year as well. Bad momma! She has since made it up to me by taking me shopping.

Anyways, it’s not like I am really excited about my birthday anymore. Turning 37 is nothing to jump up and down about. It’s just one year closer to 40. But feel free to send me gifts or ask your boss if you can have the day off. I’ll even write you a note if you need one, like I did for myself in high school so I could get out of class. (Yes, I forged my mother’s signature. Now I forge my husband’s.)

The second reason June 23rd is important – and should be immediately penciled in on your calendar – is that that date is the last day to vote in Social Luxe Lounge’s blog awards. I’ve been nominated for Funniest Blog (so what if I nominated myself? Someone had to.) and need your help. Now, I don’t think I’m going to beat top contenders like Barefoot Foodie, with 1,464 votes (and my personal laugh-my-ass-off favorite, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to vote for her!), or Mommy Wants Vodka’s 670 votes (you might have to vote for her once just because of the name). But with 40 votes I’m in the running for hmmm….maybe 8th, 9th place?

Right now, the Beet Goes On, Annieology and Tales of Wit and Charm are my closest competitors. Give me a nice birthday present and help me pass them in votes. I need something to look forward to on June 23rd, and it can’t be another gray hair.

You can vote one time every day until June 23. What else do you have to do? What else would you want to do?  I can’t think of a better way to pass a few minutes of time, in my humble opinion.

So please, I beg of you, help this poor girl forget that on June 23 her 40th birthday is right around the corner. It’s either that or I drink myself into a frenzy. You decide.

If you feel so inclined to vote for Wind in Your Vagina just because of the name, I totally understand. But please, keep it to yourself.

Leave a Reply

